And He grants you whatever you ask of Him. If you try to count Allah’s bounties, you will never be able to do so. Indeed, man is extremely unjust and ungrateful.

Surah Ibrahim (14) Verse 34.

Discussing ‘Extravagance’, Mufti Muhammad Taqi Uthmani hafidhahullah narrates a lesson bearing story regarding his father [Mufti Muhammad Shafi’ (ra)] He says:

Once I had gone to Lahore with my father as a child. My elder brother Zaki Kayfi resided there. The three of us were going somewhere on foot. It was night time and dark and the place; Kapur Thalah house, had a barbed wire fence which made passage difficult.

My elder brother was taking out money from his pocket when he dropped a coin. It was dark and we were in a hurry and there was the barbed wire fence to cope with, so my brother thought that it was futile to look for the coin and he moved ahead. But, my father [Mufti Muhammad Shafi’ (ra)] asked him, ”what did you drop?” He replied, ”A coin.” My father asked, ”Why did you not pick it up?” He said, ”It was a two-paisa-or an anna-coin.”

My father commanded him. ”whatever it was, first search for a little while and if you are unable to find it then let it go, but you must search for it initially.” So, my father got someone to get a match-box, struck a match and commanded, ”Look for it.”

He said, ”whether it is one paisa or two, it is a blessing of Allah. If you do not value it, you do not value Allah’s blessing.”

Spiritual Discourses Vol 3, Darul Isha’at, Page 248

According to Mufti Muhammad Shafi’ (ra), leaving the coin without searching for it would have been extravagance and tantamount to regarding a blessing of Allah as trivial.

