The following incident refers to the occasion when Hadhrat ‘Allamah Sayyad Sulayman Nadwi (ra) came to Hadhrat Maulana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanwi (ra) to request bai’ah (the pledge) for his spiritual reformation.

Ashraf al-‘Ulama Hadhrat Maulana Ashraf ‘Ali Thanwi (ra) once remarked,

‘Allamah Sulayman Nadwi (ra) came here and said, ”counsel me.” I was dumbfounded, that such a great ‘Alim (scholar)! What advise can I give him? Then a thought came to me, and I said, ”Maulana, the essence of this entire deen (religion) is to adopt utmost humility.”

There was a person who was religious. He had only one downfall; he regarded himself as religious. What is necessary is to adopt utmost humility.

Discourses of Hadhrat Maulana Muhammad Ashraf Ali Thanavi (RA), Islamic Promotions, Page 45

