Hadhrat Maulana Yusuf Motala, may Allah preserve him, writes:

A few days before the demise of Hadhrat [Shaykh al-Hadith Maulana Muhammad Zakariyya] (ra), a letter was received from one of the students of Darul ‘Uloom (Bury), in which the student had written about his conditions and personal situation. Also included in his letter were his feelings in accord to his moral lacking and also expression of his downfall as a person who was supposed to be a devoted entity.

In my absence [Hadhrat] Sufi Iqbal sahib (ra) read the letter to Hadhrat (ra), who in response was very happy and said:

let me know when Yusuf comes. I’ll make sure to kiss him.

When I arrived, he said:

come near and let me kiss your face.

I however moved forward and kissed his forehead and hands instead. Hadhrat said:

Oh my beloved! I called you so that I could kiss you. I was especially happy after hearing of your student’s letter. Pass on my regards to him and tell him that those who consider themselves significant and exceptional are the ones who in reality are the most worthless.

Hadhrat Shaikhul-Hadeeth (Maulana Muhammad Zakariyya rahmatullahi alaihi) & I, Jamea Publication No. 27, Pages 45-46 (Edited slightly for grammatical reasons)

