Mawlana ‘Ashiq Ilahi Mirathi (may Allah shower His mercy upon him) writes: 

‘‘Mawlana ‘Abd al-Majid Hazarwi would relate, ‘‘When I began studying hadith under the tutelage of Sayyid Nadhir Husayn Dehlawi[1], I would feel anxiety in my heart and would often see dreams in which I was surrounded by roaming piglets. Seeing these dreams I became completely disheartened and went straight to the company of Mawlana Fadl-e-Rahman[2] (may Allah shower His mercy upon him) in Ganj Muradabad. I explained to him what I was studying and the nature of my dreams. Mawlana asked me, ‘‘Where do you study?’’ I replied, ‘‘In Delhi, with Mawlana Nadhir Husayn.’’ He suggested, ‘‘Go to Mawlana Rashid Ahmad in Gangoh. That is where the bastion of hadith is.’’ Thereafter, he continued to praise Imam Rabbani (Mawlana Rashid Ahmad Gangohi (may Allah sanctify his secret)), and said, ‘‘Go there, relay my salam to him and inform him that you have been sent by Fadl-e-Rahman.’’ Thus, Mawlana ‘Abd al-Majid arrived in Gangoh. When he went to Mawlana [Rashid Ahmad Gangohi], he was sitting on a stool for ablution, brushing his teeth with a miswak. He smiled upon seeing Mawlana ‘Abd al-Majid. The latter greeted him with salam and relayed Mawlana Fadl-e-Rahman’s salam and message. He informed him, ‘‘Mawlana praised you greatly and I am now here having been sent by him.’’ Upon hearing this, Mawlana said with complete humility, ‘‘He praises others since he himself is worthy of praise, otherwise I know what I really am.’’ 

Mawlana ‘Abd al-Majid relates, ‘‘Finally, I commenced [the study of] hadith and benefited from Mawlana [Rashid Ahmad Gangohi], and from that very day my distress began decreasing and my happiness continued to increase daily.’’ ’’ 

Tadhkirat al-Rashid, Vol. 2, p. 320-321 (Lahore: Idara Islamiat, Jumada ‘l-Thaniyah 1406 AH / March 1986 CE edition) by Mawlana ‘Ashiq Ilahi Mirathi. 


[1] A renowned Ahl al-Hadith scholar of the sub-continent

[2] For details about Mawlana please see footnote no. 4 of the following entry: Imam Hakim al-Ummah Thanwi (1863–1943 CE): The link between the Juniors and Seniors

